## 1135 Waiver Request Communication Method- Best Practice

The specific State Dept. of Health should provide responses to the following basic questions for any impacted provider seeking a potential 1135 waiver:

- Provider Name/Type
- Full Address (including county/city/town/state) CCN (Medicare provider number)
- Contact person and his or her contact information for follow-up questions should the Region need additional clarification
- Brief summary of why the waiver is needed. **For example:** CAH is sole community provider without reasonable transfer options at this point during the specified emergent event (e.g. flooding, tornado, fires, or flu outbreak). CAH needs a waiver to exceed its bed limit by X number of beds for Y days/weeks (be specific).
- Consideration Type of relief you are seeking or regulatory requirements or regulatory reference that the requestor is seeking to be waived.
- There is no specific form or format that is required to submit the information but it is helpful to clearly state the scope of the issue and the impact.

If a waiver is requested, the information should come directly from the impacted provider to the appropriate Regional Office mailbox with a copy to the appropriate State Agency for Health Care Administration to make sure the waiver request does not conflict with any State requirements and all concerns are addressed timely.

## **Email Addresses for CMS Regional Offices:**

ROATLHSQ@cms.hhs.gov (Atlanta RO): Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee

RODALDSC@cms.hhs.gov (Dallas RO): Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

ROPHIDSC@cms.hhs.gov (Northeast Consortium): Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, New York, New Jersey, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont

ROCHISC@cms.hhs.gov (Midwest Consortium): Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska

ROSFOSO@cms.hhs.gov (Western Consortium): Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming, Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Pacific Territories.